Recently read an article in the MIT Tech Review on the US doubling our Solar market next year. I am all for solar power in what ever form or fashion. Now if the industry is doubling my optimistic mind looks at an opportunity for employment for our unemployed.

The article shows a picture of a Solar Power Plant using mirrors to concentrate the rays of the sun on a tower to produce electricity. I am assuming it would be heating water to convert into steam which would drive a turbo generator and in the process generate electricity. I always marvel at the ideas generated by my fellow humans which make the world a more interesting place.

This bring me to talking about maintenance. How will these mirrors be maintained?Would we need to have an army of mirror polishers to keep the mirror farm running in peak efficiency. Or would we have self cleaning mirrors like the self cleaning ovens at home? And would it be an opportunity for employment?

On another front I have always like to generate power at the source. Could we have a Personal Mobile running on mirrors and steam? Why even bother to convert steam to electricity? I am sure some one some where is already dreaming and willing this concept into happening.

Reference : http://www.technologyreview.com/energy/24498/

