I had the good fortune of working for Ravi & Shashi Ruia of Essar fame in the 70’s as a young engineer in Goa, India.

This was one of their earliest ventures in building a mammoth Ore & Oil Handling Terminal in Vasco Da Gama for the Mormugao Port trust.

We worked and played hard. We had some very good Goan friends and traveled into the villages and got a taste for the local life. Also developed a taste for Feni (Cashew fruit liquor)

One of our visits was for a nice Goan lunch with our friends family in enchanting rural Goa.

They had a beautiful Portuguese style villa with walls painted with pictorial stories.  The lunch was heavy and I had to relieve myself. I asked our hosts to show me the rest room and was led to a huge room with a platform and a hole in it.

As soon  as I relieved myself I heard a squeaking noise and saw pigs rush and clean up the waste material. I was scared out of my wits but regained my composure and calmly approached my host and asked them what they did with the pigs.

He calmly replied that now and then they would slaughter them for food and the lunch we had was one which had been slaughtered the week before.

They had an elegant sewage disposal system and the waste was recycled into food

I have always pondered this and told this story many times to an unbelieving audience.

But looking back it does make sense in terms of total seamless recycling and sustainable living 🙂

I did tell my mom about this and she muttered something about tape worms

What do my readers think?

